fbpx

Beverly Pepper

At over 90 years old, Beverly Pepper was still creating. An obviousness, even stubbornness, that had earned her regular comparisons with Louise Bourgeois and Louise Nevelson. While she admired her two acolytes, she did not consider herself a sculptor. She likes to have no status, except that of “working metal as if it were paper”. The great lady, who has lived in Umbria for more than 50 years, has frequented the foundries all over Italy to be able to finally declare that the material has confided all its secrets to her.

Beverly Pepper’s career has been marked by a stroke of fate and a good dose of daring. In 1949, for example, she left Brooklyn and the life she led there to start all over again in Paris and studied at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière. Seeing herself more as a painter, she decided to take up woodcarving in 1960, then seized her chance in 1962 when Giovanni Carandente, curator of the “Sculptures in the City” exhibition, asked her to experiment with welding, shaping and sculpting metal. She accepted and quickly set to work to acquire the talent that we know today, but which she had never practiced before! She was the only woman to exhibit among such great names as Henry Moore, Alexander Calder or David Smith.

Beginning of February 2020, we lost one of our best sculptors and most of all a great friend. We thank Beverly for all the supports she has given our sculpture park.  Her pioneering and monumental works are a source of pride and joy to all.

The International Art scene is talking about her :

New York Time article

Art News article

fbpx

Beverly Pepper

À plus de 90 ans, Beverly Pepper créait encore et toujours. Une évidence, voire une obstination, qui lui valu d’être régulièrement comparée à Louise Bourgeois et Louise Nevelson. Si elle admirait ses deux acolytes, elle ne se considérait pas comme une sculpteur. Elle se plaisait à ne pas avoir de statut, si ce n’est celui de «travailler le métal comme s’il était du papier». C’est que la grande dame, installée depuis plus de 50 ans en Ombrie, a fréquenté avec acharnement les fonderies de toute l’Italie pour pouvoir enfin déclarer que le matériau lui a confié tous ses secrets.

Le parcours de Beverly Pepper est jalonné de coups du destin et d’une bonne dose d’audace. En 1949, par exemple, elle quitte Brooklyn et la vie qu’elle y mène pour tout recommencer à Paris et étudie à l’Académie de la Grande Chaumière. Elle qui se voyait plutôt comme peintre, décide de se mettre à la sculpture du bois en 1960, puis saisit sa chance en 1962 quand Giovanni Carandente, curateur de l’exposition «Sculptures dans la ville», lui demande de faire l’expérience de la soudure, de façonner et sculpter le métal. Elle accepte et se met rapidement au travail pour acquérir le talent qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui, mais qu’elle n’avait alors jamais pratiqué! Elle fut la seule femme à exposer parmi de grands noms tels que Henry Moore, Alexander Calder ou David Smith.

En février 2020, nous avons perdu l’une de nos meilleurs sculpteurs et surtout une grande amie. Nous remercions Beverly pour tout le soutien qu’elle a apporté à notre parc de sculptures. Ses œuvres pionnières et monumentales sont une source de fierté et de joie pour tous. Repose en paix.

L’Art International en parle :

New York Time article

Art News article